Saving a split Ganache

12 Jan

There is absolutely nothing worse than the realisation that your ganache has split, heartbreaking stuff, I have been close to tears on the occasion and have released quite the stream of expletives much to the amusement of himself on another.

So I came across two ways to help rescue your goo formerly known as ganache.

1. Firstly, using an electric hand-whisk try and emulsify the mixture. Just do it at a low speed for a minute or two keeping an eye on the texture. When you should see it recover its smooth glossy sheen – stop mixing.

2. If the above fails, like it did for me the second time, try this. Heat up some cream in a saucepan – half the amount of the cream you used in the ganache. Working very slowly, gently stir this into your ganache a little at a time. If you made your ganache by adding the chocolate to the cream, then add the ganache to your hot cream and stir gently. I made mine by adding the cream to the chocolate so this is why I attempted to fix it in the same order. This worked a treat for me – insert huge sigh of relief here!!!

12 Responses to “Saving a split Ganache”

  1. xbox 360 bundle January 27, 2011 at 4:28 am #

    What a erudite blog on Saving a split Ganache !

  2. Stacey April 26, 2012 at 6:10 am #

    Thanks you’re a lifesaver!!

  3. heykerryann August 17, 2012 at 9:12 pm #

    Option 2 just worked a treat for me. Cheers for sharing. What would I do without the internet?!?

  4. Seb December 2, 2012 at 9:33 pm #

    Thank you!!! Making truffles as Christmas presents, and my ‘Orange’ batch split. I was preparing to throw the lot away, storming around my kitchen, when I found this. Option 2 has restored my ganache, and you have just saved me a lot of money from having to buy all the ingredients again!!!

  5. Johnny December 6, 2012 at 7:04 pm #

    Thank you SO much!! I did a mix of the two, worked great =)

  6. Daisy February 11, 2013 at 1:27 am #

    OMG! thank you. You are a saviour…

  7. Opheliea May 22, 2013 at 3:39 am #

    THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! You are a godsend!!

  8. Anayahcakes.co.uk July 3, 2013 at 8:49 pm #

    Thank you so so much, the 2nd trick worked for me too of adding some heated cream a bit at a time until it was the right consistency! It’s my first attempt to coat a cake with ganache which will be covered with rolled fondant. Was starting to get get disheartened but then this tip saved the day!! Thanks again!

  9. LondonRuthie December 5, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    OMG. It’s only bloody worked!! How can I thank you?? I was literally ready to catapult the bowl of greasy gunk straight out of the french windows on to the lawn when I thought I give google a go. Thank the Baby Jesus that your answer came up. I now have a silky, glossy bowl of gorgeousness and I can now fashion my truffles in confidence that my lovely guests tomorrow night will be feasting on the food of the Gods! Hurrah!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

