Not Forgetting the Savoury

3 Mar

Plenty. By Yotam Ottolenghi. I cannot recommend this book enough, it has quickly become one of my favourite cookbooks. I seem to have veered down the baking path of late so I really must return to some delicious dinners I’ve made from some new books recently.

The first recipe I chose to make from his book was Crunchy Papparadelle. It tasted so damn good, although the carnivore in me did appear when I announced that those mushrooms in it would be exceptional alongside a thick juicy steak! The marriage of the white wine, bay leaves and thyme with the mushrooms was exquisite.

I was unable to find papparadelle in the shops when I was making this so substituted it for tagliatelle. I also omitted the crushed garlic/lemon combination – I can’t abide the taste and texture of raw garlic!! Though I’ll eat it cooked any day. I did squeeze some fresh lemon juice over the meal before I served it.

I also couldn’t find sprouting broccoli in the shops, even though it was in season, but don’t let me go on a rant about the lack of seasonal vegetables in the shops because I just won’t stop. So, I used plain old regular broccoli.

The breadcrumbs also add a wonderful texture to the pasta which I would never have thought to add to the mix. It’s something I’ll definitely try with other pasta dishes.

I have made this dish a few times now and it was just as tasty each time and a really great meal to throw together midweek after a hectic working day.

You can find the recipe here.

2 Responses to “Not Forgetting the Savoury”

  1. Miguel November 1, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Ni Linda,

    Love that recipe! I agree with you, Ottolenghi is one of my favourite cooks. Hi has a small take away-deli shoop in Londo with a selection ot their recipes that it blew my mind. We bought like five different meals. Yummy! I will try this recipe this week and I will let you know. Keep on working on this blog!!! It is fantastic!

    • madeinthepresenceofnut November 1, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      Thanks so much Miguel!! I’ve never been to his shop or restaurant in London, I’d love to go!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

