Chocolate Truffles

30 Aug

The first time I made these I couldn’t get over how simple they were to make! Each time I make them now I alter the chocolate coating slightly. For example I used a dark chocolate with an orange crunch in it, which worked surprisingly well with the baileys flavoured filling. I havn’t made any filling variations yet but I believe that tia maria would be damn tasty in them as would creme de menthe for a minty alternative.

The only mildy difficult part is coating the truffles in the melted chocolate, the task can prove slighly messy but enjoyable none the less!

The recpie I use is from a wonderful book called Coffee by Banks, McFadden and Atkinson; I have just tried to locate it on amazon and the exact one I own is not there though there are variations of it available.

Ingrediants:

350g plain chocolate

5 tbsp double cream (I always use single cream)

2 tbsp liqueur

115g white chocolate

115g milk chocolate

1. Melt 225g of the plain chocolate in a bowel over a pan of simmering water.Stir in the cream and the liqueur, then chill the mixture in the fridge for 4 hours, until firm.

2. Divide the mixture and roll into a little balls. Place in the fridge again and chill until firm again.

3. Melt the remaining plain, white and milk chocolate in separate bowls. Using two forks, carefully dip the truffles into the melted chocolate. Repeat with each flavour. Place on greaseproof paper. Leave to set.

Leave a Reply

