Strawberry Meringue Roulade

23 Oct

What a day! It’s the Friday of the bank holiday and I was hoping for a nice quick day at work, not the one I had! Issue after issue and some not resolved. I needed to start something and finish it and relax, I did not have that Friday feeling; and I had egg whites to use!

I have never made Pavlova before or meringue so this was a first and a delightfully successful first, yay! It both relaxed me and tasted great! I have that on a few accounts as some of mes filles came over for tea and were my happy tasters! I knew that meringue was egg whites and sugar so I couldn’t go that wrong. I used a very easy to follow recipe from the Avoca cookbook. I am a huge fan of their books and would recommend both of them.

Egg White and Sugar Batter

Using the whites of four large eggs (always better to use room temperature eggs), you add half the sugar and beat to soft peaks, which means when you lift the beaters from the eggs the ‘peaks’ should bend over. You then gradually beat in the remaining sugar and beat for around ten minutes until stiff peaks form (they should stand on their own and not fall over). This will give you a lovely glossy white mixture. Spread this evenly in a baking tray lined with grease proof paper and bake in an oven pre-heated to 150 degrees celsius and in an hour you’ll have a wonderful start to the roulade. And it looked perfect when I gently removed it from the kitchen, I would be lying if I didn’t say i danced round the kitchen with joy!

Just out of the oven

Once cool you flip onto another sheet of greaseproof so the smooth, flat surface is visible.  I also placed this on a t-towel to aid with the rolling process. You then whip your cream, spread as evenly as you can and add whatever kind of fruit you like, I used strawberries.

Strawberries and Cream

Ready to roll!

Ready to roll!

As carefully as you can, holding the paper and the t-towel, you slowly and gently begin to roll. It will crack. This is inevitable. It adds to the overall look of it though plus you can decorate over it!! I was giddy with glee at how it turned out!! My first meringue roulade!

Strawberry Meringue Roulade

…work…a distant memory…hello weekend!!!

3 Responses to “Strawberry Meringue Roulade”

  1. Cerandor October 27, 2009 at 10:21 pm #

    And very, very tasty. I’m so very glad you cooked more than the two of you could handle. 🙂

  2. CrazyCook December 9, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    Hey, I dont have the recipe book so how many grams of sugar do you need? thanks

Leave a Reply

