Pizza, Pizza, Pizza!!

20 Jan

I adore Pizza and will never say no to it!! When I never know what I want to eat, I’ll always be in the mood for pizza, it’s incredibly tasty. Things I don’t like on pizza: onion, fish/shellfish. I’ll pretty much give everything else a go! Things I love on pizza: pepperoni and pepperoni! Drool!!

This home-made pizza recipe is one I scribbled down whilst watching Jamie Oliver. It’s absolutely fool-proof and works every time. I always make a large batch as per the recipe below and then freeze individual portions of the dough and sauce. It’s so handy and far better for you, frozen pizza are full to the brim of salt, major no-no. It’s a very handy dinner to make mid-week. In the morning you can remove your frozen serving and then just roll in the evening and add what you have to it!

For the sauce:

Heat 6tbsps of olive oil and add three thinly sliced garlic cloves to this. Add in some fresh chopped basil. Pour in three cans of chopped tomatoes. I throw in some chilli here too if I’m looking for a kick form the sauce. Simmer for five minutes. Sieve to remove any lumps and return the sieved sauce to the heat and simmer gently for another five minutes.

For the Dough:

Mix 800g of strong flour with 200g of semolina and 1level tbsp of salt. Sieve this on a flat surface and make a well. In a jug, mix the 14g yeast, 1tbsp sugar and 4tbsp olive oil into 650ml lukewarm water and leave for a few minutes, then pour into the well. Work in the sides with a fork, when it starts to form, work with hands and knead. When a ball forms place in a large bowl, cover with a damp tea towel and allow to rise for an hour.

When this is ready, tear off a portion and roll or toss if you can. Spread about 2 dstsp of the tomato sauce on it. Add mozzarella and whatever else you like. I added pepperoni and red peppers and freshly ground black pepper to my most recent pizza.

I'm yet to make a perfectly shaped pizza!

Pepperoni & Pepper Pizza

Cook at 180 degrees celcius for 15 -20 mins depending on how thick/thin your base is.

6 Responses to “Pizza, Pizza, Pizza!!”

  1. Colum January 21, 2010 at 4:11 pm #

    Hey,
    Pizza looks delicious and I’m dying to try it! Quick qs:where can you get strong flour and semolina flour? Are they handy enough to find in most supermarkets?
    -C

    • madeinthepresenceofnut January 21, 2010 at 4:28 pm #

      You can buy them in most shops, I know both Superquinn and Tesco stock them. Odlums have a strong flour and it comes in an orange bag! You should put the semolina flour in an air tight container when you’re not using it to keep it for longer, for some reason it goes off quicker than most flours. Happy pizza making! 🙂

      • Colum January 21, 2010 at 4:30 pm #

        Thanks!

  2. Rouba January 21, 2010 at 11:33 pm #

    Hi!
    I love home made pizza too – but your recipe for the sauce seems much tastier than mine, so I’ll try it for sure!
    My favorite: I mix gruyère and mimolette (orange cheese from holland) and add fresh mushrooms and ham.
    Love your blog!!!

  3. Colum February 4, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    Hi,
    I made the Pizza last night – was absolutely delicious! Many thanks for the recipe (and Semonlina ;). For the dough I used a food processor to mix the ingredients for the rather than kneading it by hand 🙂
    Thanks again!
    -Colum (& Fran!)

    • madeinthepresenceofnut February 4, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

      Yay!! So glad it turned out well, it’s addictive pizza and so handy to have in the freezer, you can freeze the sauce in indivual portions too in freezer bags or those ice cube freezer bags.

Leave a Reply

