Croque Monsieur

21 Jan

I have at least one of these every time I go to France. They’re just so damn tasty!! For some strange reason I never attempted to make one before, until now!! They’re so easy to make and I nearly always have the ingredients in the fridge. They’re typically made with bread, Dijon mustard, ham, Gruyère cheese and a béchamel sauce. Now I had everything but the Gruyère so I substituted it for the mature white cheddar that was sitting in the fridge.

Very very easy to make; at its most basic it’s a toasted ham and cheese sandwich, topped with a béchamel sauce.

Heat the oven to 180 degrees celsius.

To make the béchamel sauce: melt 2 tbsp of butter in a small pot on a low/medium heat. When it has melted add 2 tbsps of flour and stir with a whisk until smooth, this should take about 2 minutes. To this, gradually add about 300ml stirring consistently until smooth and thick. I then added salt, pepper, nutmeg and roughly 1 ounce of grated cheese. Remove from the heat.

Then make the sandwiches. I made two ham, cheese and Dijon mustard sandwiches on whole meal bread and buttered the outside of them. You can them toast them on both sides on a pan, I used a heated griddle pan for this. This does not take long providing the pan is hot to begin with.

Remove the sandwiches from the pan and place in a baking tray. Spoon on some béchamel sauce on the top of both sandwiches. Sprinkle both with grated cheese.

Place in the oven for roughly 5 mins until the cheese has melted. You can then put them under the grill if you wish to get a nice browned top. I did not do that this time but I plan on doing it next time. I will also use Gruyère cheese in my next attempt as I felt it did lack that distinct flavour. If you add an egg to the middle of the bread you have yourself a Croque Madam, think I might give that a shot next time!

Serve with a nice tossed salad and a glass of your favourite colour vino 🙂

...avec beetroot et tomato

One Response to “Croque Monsieur”

  1. American in Paris February 8, 2010 at 3:29 pm #

    Wow…looks SOOO much better than the pre-cooked, dried, crusty ones you find in Parisian bakeries…or even worse the ones you buy “raw” in the supermarket!

    Looks yummmm my dear 🙂

Leave a Reply

