Buttermilk Scones

24 Jan

I took the opportunity to try a new recipe for scones while the football was on the telly on Saturday and I had a lovely uninterrupted 90 minutes in the kitchen…though I had made, baked and cleaned the kitchen within 30 minutes. Which, I think, is exactly the time line you need when making scones. They should be something you can throw together with ease and will bake quickly if someone pops round for tea. It’s also a good idea to bake a large batch and freeze some to have for such an occasion.

These are delicious. I enjoyed them warm smeared with honey and yes, I went back for a second and had to stop myself from having the third!

The recipe was taken from Nigella’s Kitchen – I made a half batch.

You can find the recipe here

Cream of tartar and bread soda together work like a double baking powder.

Leave a Reply

